79th Person of the Year Award

On September 21, 2022, we honored and celebrated the good volunteer work of Ginger Salazar and Katina Zaninovich, the 79th Persons of the Year for the Santa Barbara area!

Learn more about their volunteer contributions in this Noozhawk feature (and in the videos below). View photos of the event in our Facebook album. 

Person of the Year Selection Process

Ginger Salazar
Katina Zaninovich

The process to select the 79th Persons of the Year began with open nominations from May 16 to July 15. Anyone in the community can nominate an individual, couple, or family. From there, the nominations go through a Pre-Selection Committee made up of the Santa Barbara Foundation’s Collaboration for Social Impact Advisory Board, which consists of nonprofit leaders from across Santa Barbara County. The Pre-Selection Committee then provides its recommendation to the Selection Committee, which is comprised of former recipients of the honor. The former recipients selected Ginger Salazar and Katina Zaninovich on the morning of August 10, 2022.

We Celebrated our Recipients and the Spirit of Volunteerism!

The 79th Person of the Year luncheon was on Wednesday, September 21, from 11:00 am – 2:00 pm at the Hilton Beachfront Resort Rotunda.

About the Person of the Year Awards

Formerly known as Man & Woman of the Year, the 79th annual Person of the Year honors Santa Barbara area individuals, couples, or family whose volunteer service represents a meaningful commitment to the community; addresses a real community needs, or enhances the quality of life in the Santa Barbara area; or has involved acts of generosity, kindness, or innovation, with an emphasis on the recent accomplishments and achievements. Recipients are selected from a wide range of candidates who have been nominated by community members.



Former Recipients

George Adams | Sue Adams | David Anderson | Donald Anderson | Richard Arbagey | Stanley Bartlett | Russell Bell | Ed Birch | George Bliss | Patricia Dillon Bliss | David Boyd | Cally Brennand | Ardis Sloan Bryant | Bob Bryant |Hildahl Burtness | Gertrude Calden | George Castagnola | Harold Chase | Bill Cirone | Pearl Chase | Carnzu A. Clark | Pierre Claeyssens | Jon Clark | Michael & Marni Cooney | Ida Cordero | Virgil Cordano | Larry Crandell | John Daly | Emily Davis | Louise Lowry Davis | Jelinda DeVorzon | Carol Doane | Lura Dolas | Patricia Caldwell Dow |Wallace Drew | Warner Edmonds | Robert J. Emmons | Nancyann Failing | Léni Fé Bland | Carolyn E. Ferguson | Julia Forbes | Gil Garcia | Janet Garufis | Etta Glahn | Jeanne Graffy | Katherine Meeker Gray | Sylvia Griffiths | Betty M. Groebli | Susan Miles Gulbransen | Jane Habermann | Jerry Harwin | Vicki Hazard | Stephen M. Hicks | Lorraine Hoelscher | James Hurley, Jr. | Shirley Ann Hurley | Reuben Irvin | Palmer Jackson | Arnold Jacquemain | Penny Jenkins | Yvonne Jordan | Gerd Jordano | Robert Kallman | H.O. Koefod | Leonard Kummer |  Cliff Lambert | Louis Lancaster | Winnie Lancaster | Lotte Lehmann | Michael Lemus | Grace Meeker Lloyd | Stanley Lowry | Eli Luria | Steve Lyons | Duncan MacDougall | Peter MacDougall | Patricia MacFarlane | Anita Mackey | Patrick Maher | Sidney McFarland | Ralph McNall | Lucy McReynolds | David Medina | Joni Meisel | Mary Jo Miles | Courtney Monsen | Dwight Murphy | Vie Obern | Bruce O’Neal | Carol Palladini | Charles Panoyan | Ernesto Paredes | Tom Parker | John Parma | Helen Pedotti | Deborah Pelissero | David L. Peri | Mary Perry | Donald Phillips | R Mildred Pinheiro | Richard Polsky | Sheridah Porter | Francis Price, Sr. | John S. Rathbone | Joanne Rapp | Catherine Remak | John Rickard | Leslie Ridley-Tree | Edgar Robinson | Marshall Rose | Betty Rosness | Alice Rypins | Ginger Salazar | Clark Sargeant | Ken Saxon | Maryan Schall | Alice Schott | Jean Schuyler |  Jan Severson | David Shiffman | Elmer Shirrell | David Siebert | Annette Slavin | Clifford W. Sponsel | Sid Smith | Mary Standlee | Judy Stapelmann | Charles Stearns | Charles A. Storke | Thomas M. Storke | Barbara Tellefson | John Timmons | Anne Smith Towbes | Gail Towbes | Michael Towbes | James Van Etta | Selmer O. Wake | Milton Weinstein | Donald Welch | Edwin Welch | Richard Welch | Ada Schick Wing | L. Stuart Wing | Eleanor Wright | Katina Zaninovich

2022 Event Sponsors

Legacy Sponsors

Premier Media Sponsor

Gold Sponsor 

Bronze Sponsor

Montecito Journal 
Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara

To become a sponsor of the 80th (2023) Person of the Year Awards please contact Jordan Killebrew, Director of Communications, at jkillebrew@SBFoundation.org.